Jake

Ready for Adoption
Gender: 
Male
Age: 
3 years 8 months
Weight: 
41 lbs
State: 
Colorado
Contact for more information : 
Kirsten - colorado.atra@gmail.com
Jan - martinj622@hotmail.com
Other dog ok?: 
No
Cat ok?: 
Unknown

JAKE

 

I’m a sweet 3-year old boy who until recently, spent most of my life outside as a stud dog.  I’ve been fostered by a wonderful couple who specialize in working with rescues on behavioral training, using only positive methods.  I’ve been doing really well however my new owners will need to continue to work with me on my growth and development.  I need a family that is very patient and understands Airedales.  Here are some more facts to know about me:

I am bonded with Judy and need her in my life to feel safe and secure.  We will be placed together.  Double the love, double the fun!
My energy level is pretty mellow for an Airedale and I require moderate exercise.  I’d be a great companion for weekday walks and weekend hikes. 
A little shy when meeting people but I warm up, especially with women
I’d do better in a quieter home with no children or older children.
I’m OK with other dogs but sometimes I can play a little rough.  I need to be placed in a home with no other dogs but Judy.
I’m not interested in cats. 
My house manners are generally good—I don’t jump on furniture but like all young Airedales, it’s best to keep tempting items out of reach. 
I load easily and ride well in the car and do not get carsick. 
I will pull on the leash during the start of a walk but once I’ve relaxed, I walk really well!
I’ve been working on my potty training and have made a lot of progress.  My new family will need to help me to become 100% reliable.
I don’t jump doggie gates or fences. Speaking of fences, I do tend to bark at other dogs and people walking by, but I usually come when called away.  I am also a big talker!
I’m crate trained.  At night, I enjoy sleeping in my crate right next to Judy’s. 
I have a huge heart and can’t wait to find my forever home.
I am located in Colorado and prefer to stay here, however if my adopting family comes from out-of-state, they will need to drive here to pick me up.